Being Frank…

Accepting my failings

Homemade: Gorgeous things to make with love

1 Comment

I am in retreat.No in fact I am actually hiding. I am hiding upstairs under the duvet with a cup of tea and a new book. Let the boys wreak what havoc they may downstairs, I don’t care. I am lost in a handmade dream where everything I lay a needle on turns out neat and pressed and totally gorgeous !

I don’t own a lot of craft books (knitting doesn’t count, knitting is a way of life) I do get a lot out of the library though and look at the pictures and dream and rarely raise a glue stick in active pursuit… this changed a few weeks ago when I borrowed What Shall We Do Today: Catherine Woram. I love this book. There are so many things in it that I could see myself doing with Spider. Unfortunately Spider didn’t share my vision and the book went back to the library without a project attempted, not even the supremely easy and always fun paper windmill !

I have been in mourning for the book. I miss it. So when a rainstorm this afternoon had us running for shelter in Leamington Spa I made sure we aimed for Waterstones but I was to be disappointed. Lovely books they had a plenty but no What Shall We Do Today but they did have a slightly more grown up version called Homemade: Ros Badger and Elspeth Thompson which I may grow to love almost as much as WSWDT – the introduction says that it encourages you to use things you find already in the house, which is a good start as a lot of books seem to require extensive shopping before you can even cut something out. The book covers a wide range of things from knitting and crochet, gardening and cooking, embroidery and banging holes in things with a nail…

I think I read somewhere that there are over 50 projects – so in theory I could try something new every week…starting with a mexican tin lantern…but not yet as I’ve just emptied the recycling box in the kitchen.  In the meantime it has gone quiet downstairs which is a bad sign, as is my empty teacup. Time to rejoin the mayhem.

Author: 5currantbuns

Cake Baker

One thought on “Homemade: Gorgeous things to make with love

  1. I have been very tempted by that book!

Leave a Reply

