Being Frank…

Accepting my failings

Fear of Failure

2 Comments

I had planned another finished object post but the weather this weekend has been back to dull and gloomy so no photographs were taken. I have another finished object blocking on the bedroom floor – I had to do the ironing, tidy the bedroom and vacuum before I was able to block !

Checking Ravelry later I realised I have a lot of virtually finished things which await blocking or buttons or silly little tasks like that  before they have their photos taken. I decided that it was time I stopped procrastinating and just got on with things.  So I’ve just spent an hour or so collecting everything together including organising the mess that is my sewing/knitting tools collection.

All of the things that need doing are easy, won’t take long at all. So why haven’t I done it ? As far as I can tell it’s down to a sense of guilt. I keep telling myself that I need to finish my god-daughter’s christmas present (now you know why I feel guilty) before I finish anything else off…and this is where the problem is…because I don’t know how to do it ?

The present is a knitted bag. It needs lining (simple). It needs a catch (simple and I have already bought one). Here’s the (other) catch, it’s a very floppy bag and I think it needs stiffening but I can’t decide how to do it. The easy route would be to iron interfacing onto the lining but I think even heavy interfacing isn’t going to be stiff enough.

I have some pelmet interfacing. It’s like cardboard and it’s thick…you can’t iron it on. What I think i need to do is create 5 pockets, slip a rectangular piece of interfacing into each pocket and then find a way to join all 5 pockets together to create a kinda 3-D lining of the bag.

It makes sense in my head. It reminds me a lot of making 3-D shapes in maths at primary school…but so far I’ve lacked the courage to actually try it. I guess I need to stop putting my toe in the water and just jump in the deep end…but not tonight….I chickened out after taking the measurements and drawing lines on the interfacing…they looked so wonky.

I don’t know why I’m worrying so much. The god-daughter probably won’t care and will be more interested in the Claire’s Accessory’s gift card inside the bag…

Author: 5currantbuns

Cake Baker

2 thoughts on “Fear of Failure

  1. Thanks for leaving a comment on my blog. Funnily enough, I have just cleaned up my stash and found 4 unfinished christmas presents – vintage aprons cut and ready to go. I’ve just spent the day with my friend who pinned 4 hems for me that I need to sew so I can take pics and I’m now spending the evening with a needle and thread sewing all the facings and fixtures etc. Fear not, you aren’t the only one who is better at starting that finishing. I’m sure there is a Myers Briggs catagory for us.

    Thanks
    Cyd

  2. again… thanks for your lovely comments.

Leave a Reply

